Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards Team

Sustaining MIT
Award presented by
Glen Shor, Executive Vice President and Treasurer

Next, we honor four members of the Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards—the OSCCS team. They play a sensitive role:  supporting students who have been referred to the Committee on Discipline. The team approaches this complex work with care and compassion, understanding that this is often the first point of intervention for students who are struggling in many aspects of their lives.

During the pandemic, this team's work became immeasurably more difficult. New issues related to COVID-19—such as noncompliance with masking and testing policies, or having gatherings with friends—resulted in a substantial increase to their caseload. But, with outsized sensitivity and wisdom, this team always balanced the well-being of the community and the individual students.

One of their colleagues described just why this team has been singled out for the Sustaining MIT award: "The OSCCS team engages in the highest quality work to support and educate students. And their work during the pandemic contributed greatly to the health and safety of the MIT community."

  • Katelyn Hebel, 
  • Tessa McLain
  • James E. Reed III, and
  • Anna Takahama

Congratulations, Katelyn, Tessa, James and Anna!