The MIT Staff Award for Distinction in Service

The MIT Staff Award for Distinction in Service is given annually to a staff member at MIT whose service to the Institute results in positive lasting impact on MIT's community.

The award honors individuals dedicated to upholding MIT's core values and to building community, partnerships, and connections. Award recipients embody the personal qualities of kindness, humility, selflessness, and strength of character, and are deeply committed to both the work and the people of MIT.

2024 Recipient

The 2024 recipient is:

Diego F. Arango
Department of Custodial Services, Department of Facilities

Nomination and Selection

Nominators are asked to provide examples of how the individual being nominated fulfills the criteria for award recipients. A selection committee evaluates award nominations and selects the recipient.

The 2025 nomination window will open in the fall of 2024.

About the Award


The award is given to individuals only (not teams) who are MIT staff members in any classification (support, service, administrative, academic instructional, and research). Nominees must be active employees of MIT. This award is not intended to recognize research or teaching accomplishments at the Institute.

Award criteria

An award recipient:

  • Possesses the personal qualities of kindness, empathy, approachability, humility, and selflessness; is a wise and trusted adviser to members of the MIT community.
  • Quietly yet effectively, actively engages in building community at MIT; through large or small actions, makes improvements at MIT for staff, faculty, or students on a human and personal scale.
  • Initiates and strengthens partnerships, collaborations, and connections within MIT or with MIT-affiliated organizations.
  • Takes a holistic approach to decision making, being mindful of the effect of decisions on staff, faculty, or students.
  • Seeks out diverse viewpoints and stakeholders, and reaches for creative and inclusive solutions while upholding MIT's core values.
Award amount

The MIT Staff Award for Distinction in Service is a cash award; recipients receive $2,000. Cash awards are considered additional pay and will have payroll taxes removed before issuance.

Recipients also receive an engraved award. 

Award presentation

The award is presented at the MIT Excellence Awards + Collier Medal celebration in June each year.

Past recipients
  • 2023: Kimberly A. HaberlinChief of Staff, Chancellor's Office.
  • 2022: Paolo Parravano, Co-Director, Office of Government and Community Relations, Office of the Executive Vice President and Treasurer.


Please contact