The Lincoln Laboratory Employees' African American Network (LEAN) Committee

Lincoln Laboratory (various departments)
Award presented by
President L. Rafael Reif

Next, we recognize a team of eight inspiring individuals who comprise the Lincoln Laboratory Employees’ African-American Network Committee—or “LEAN.” Established in 2013 to promote an inclusive and welcoming work environment, the team’s impact is already felt across the Laboratory. The committee has:

  • Recruited, supported and mentored African-American employees
  • Organized events featuring guest speakers and the exploration of diverse perspectives
  • Organized “Science on Saturdays” demonstrations to get kids excited about science; and
  • Hosted a free course called “Radar Fundamentals and Experimentation” for high school students, where the students built a Doppler and range radar.

LEAN’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Breakfast featured several distinguished speakers, and drew more than 200 Lincoln employees. And they accomplished all of this, I might add, in addition to doing their regular jobs. It is my pleasure to present the eight members of the LEAN Committee with the group award for Advancing Inclusion and Global Perspectives: 

Shakti Davis, Technical Staff, Group 48 Bioengineering Systems + Technologies
David C. Freeman, Jr., Technical Staff, Group 75 Systems Engineering
Bakari Hassan, Assistant Staff, Group 75 Systems Engineering
Crystal Jackson, Technical Staff, Group 64, Advanced SATCOM Systems + Operations
Brandon Matthews, Associate Staff, Group 51 Cyber Systems + Operations
John O. Nwagbaraocha, Technical Staff, Group 104 Intelligence + Decision Technologies
Raoul O. Ouedraogo, Technical Staff, Group 92 Advanced Sensors + Techniques
Jason B. Williams, Specialist, Group 53 Secure Resilient Systems + Technology