The Online Registration Project Team

Presenter: Dr. Susan Hockfield

Mary Callahan, Registrar, Office of the Registrar

Brian Canavan, Associate Registrar, Office of the Registrar

Paul Cronin, Senior Enterprise Application Administrator, Information Services & Technology

Peter Hayes, Associate Registrar, Office of the Registrar

Eamon Kearns, Associate Director of Education Systems, Information Services & Technology

Felicia W. Leung, Programmer Analyst, Information Services & Technology

Jeffrey Pankin, Senior Training Consultant, Information Services & Technology

Stephen Turner, Technical Architect, Information Services & Technology

Debra Annette Wiley, Senior Quality Assurance Analyst, Information Services & Technology

Seth M. Winerman, Senior Business Systems Analyst, Information Services & Technology

"For decades, MIT has relied on the bond between faculty advisor and advisee to guide students to success, not least of all in choosing the right courses. So bringing the process of course registration online – and into the digital century -- presented our next honorees with a delicate task. Fortunately, this joint team of staff from the Office of the Dean for Undergraduate Education and from Information Systems and Technology ensured that voices from across the community had input into shaping the new process. With sensitivity, kid gloves and persistence, this team succeeded in making dramatic improvements to a fundamental, long-standing and highly valued system. As one nominator wrote, ‘The entire process was marked by care and great consideration for the people who will actually be using this system.’ Students can now register from wherever they are—off-campus and even out of the country. But the new online registration system also maintains the integrity of those irreplaceable face-to-face meetings between advisor and student."

"For creating a system that MIT can be proud of, congratulations to the Online Registration Project Team."