Staff Directory

Employee and Labor Relations and Compliance

Our office is responsible for creating, administering and interpreting MIT's personnel policies, and for training on HR policies and practices. We help to prevent and resolve workplace problems, and we work to ensure the Institute's compliance with legal requirements affecting employment.

Human Resources Officers (HROs) are assigned to the DLCs and are both an employee's and a DLC's primary contact for employment-related issues, both union and non-union.

The Office of Labor Relations is responsible for labor relations strategy and interpretation for the entire Institute. Working with contacts in the DLCs, it negotiates, interprets and administers five collective bargaining agreements at MIT: the Service Employees' International Union (SEIU) – campus; SEIU - Lincoln Laboratory; the Research, Development, and Technical Employees' Union (RDTEU, campus and Lincoln); the Lincoln Laboratory Security Officers' Independent Union (SOIU); and the Campus Police Association (CPA).

 

Ayesha Abdur-Rahim

Senior Administrative Assistant

NE49-5000

arahim@mit.edu

(617) 253-7689

Ahsan Ali

Manager, Labor Relations

NE49-5000

ahsanali@mit.edu

(617) 715-2473

Sadiyah Jackson

Senior Human Resources Assistant

NE49-5000

sadiyah@mit.edu

(617) 452-2990

Alice Knipfing

HR Coordinator

NE49-5000

knipfing@mit.edu

(617) 253-6237

Marianna Pierce

Policy and Compliance Specialist

NE49-5000

mcpierce@mit.edu

(617) 253-4264

Travis Pregent

Assistant Manager, EO/AA

NE49-5000

tpregent@mit.edu

(617) 253-3483

 

Lynda Rushing

Labor Relations Specialist

NE49-5000

(617) 253-4274

 

Lianne Shields

Director of Employee and Labor Relations

NE49-5000

lshields@mit.edu

(617) 253-8381

Client Areas

  • Office of EVPT area
    • Office of the Executive VP & Treasurer
    • Atlas Service Center
  • Executive Vice President Area
    • Forum for the Future of Higher Education
    • Office of Sustainability
    • Government & Community Relations
  • President & Chairman of the Corporation
    • Office of the General Counsel
 

Deborah Smith

Human Resources Assistant

NW23-100

djsmith@mit.edu

(617) 253-3941

Shawn Smith

Assistant Manager, Labor Relations Facilities

NW23-100

sjsmith@mit.edu

(617) 253-1714

 

Mary Tobin

Manager, Administrative Info Services

NW23-100

mtobin@mit.edu

(617) 253-1372